Notre Dame de France - 5 Leicester Place - London WC2H 7BX - charity nr 233639                English | Français

Gift of God

« If only you knew the gift of God! » (Jn 4,10) These are words of Jesus to the Samaritan woman that transformed her.  She who was unable to make real choices, unable to sustain a loving relationship, was open to others.  She proclaimed Jesus, the Messiah, to those who lived in her village.

For Jean-Claude Colin (1790-1875) the gift of God was to belong to a religious family bearing the name of Mary.  He found his deepest self in Mary’s family, the Marists.  He wanted to carry Jesus, the love of God, to the world as Mary had done in her time.

To be a Marist is to think like Mary. At Nazareth, this young woman had a visit from the angel who came to announce the birth of Jesus.  She was well grounded in reality. She asked how that was possible because she was not yet living with her fiancé, Joseph.  She was open to the action of God in her life:  « let what you have said be done in me. » (Lk 1,38))

To be a Marist is to judge like Mary.  After the visit of the shepherds to the manger, after having lost the adolescent Jesus in the Temple in Jerusalem, Mary did not understand.  She felt overwhelmed by these events.  Luke the evangelist tells us: « Mary kept all these things in her heart. » (Luke 2,19)  Before judging a situation, she took the time to think things over, and to hold them in prayer.

To be a Marist, is to feel like Mary.  At the foot of the cross, in the face of her son’s suffering, her heart was broken.   In her heart, Mary experienced joy, pain, anger, fear, peace.  She was close to those living through difficult times. She shared also in the happiness of others.

To be a Marist is to act like Mary.  At the wedding feast of Cana, she noticed they were running out of wine.  She spoke about this to her son, confident he could do something. With him, the wine, sign of joy would never again be lacking.  Mary enabled God to act within human history.

The Marist, like Mary is witness to the mercy of God.  With the Samaritan woman, God willed that all people discover the gift of God. Life giving water can well up in our lives wherever we are. The Marist is like the person who keeps the well working so that fresh water can continue to flow freely.

The Marist is missionary, sharing this good news to each and every one.  Our first Marists set out for the Pacific, the « periphery » of their day, to announce Jesus.  Today, we keep our eyes open to reach out to other peripheries, on the margins of church and society, close to those who are far.

« If only you knew the gift of God! » Jesus speaks the same words to you today. Would you like to go with him?  Would you like to join the family of Mary?  The invitation is open ….

Notre Dame de France, 5 Leicester Place, London WC2H 7BX T. 020 7437 9363                     English | Français

Être Mariste

« Si tu savais le don de Dieu ! » (Jn 4,10) C’est le mot de Jésus à une femme de Samarie qui fut transformée.  Elle qui n’arrivait pas à choisir, qui n’arrivait pas à construire une relation amoureuse stable, s’est ouverte sur les autres. Elle a annoncé Jésus, le Messie, aux habitants de son village.

Pour Jean-Claude Colin (1790-1875), le don de Dieu est d’appartenir à une famille religieuse qui porte le nom de Marie. Il se découvre de la famille de Marie, les Maristes. Il veut porter Jésus, l’amour de Dieu, au monde comme Marie l’a fait en son temps.

Etre Mariste, c’est penser comme Marie. Jeune femme, à Nazareth, elle reçoit la visite de l’ange qui vient lui annoncer la naissance de Jésus.  Elle a les pieds sur terre. Elle se demande comment cela est-ce possible alors qu’elle ne vit pas encore avec son fiancé, Joseph. Elle est ouverte à l’action de Dieu dans sa vie : « que tout m’advienne selon ta parole. »

Etre Mariste, c’est juger comme Marie. Après la visite des bergers à la crèche, après avoir perdu Jésus adolescent au Temple de Jérusalem, Marie ne comprend pas. Elle se sent dépassé par les événements. L’évangéliste Luc nous dit que : « Marie retenait tous ces événements et les méditait dans son cœur. » (Lc 2,19) Avant de juger, elle prend le temps de repenser à ce qui s’était passé, de le porter dans la prière.

Etre Mariste, c’est sentir comme Marie. Au pied de la croix, devant la souffrance de son Fils, son cœur est brisé. Marie a connu, en son cœur, la joie, la peine, la colère, la peur et la paix. Elle est proche de ceux qui vivent des moments difficiles. Elle partage le bonheur de ceux qui sont dans la joie.

Etre Mariste, c’est agir comme Marie. A la fête du mariage, à Cana, elle se rend compte que le vin manque. Elle en parle à son fils Jésus et lui fait confiance. Avec lui, le vin, signe de la joie, ne viendra plus à manquer. Marie rend possible l’action de Dieu dans l’histoire des hommes.

Le Mariste, comme Marie, est témoin de la miséricorde de Dieu. Avec la Samaritaine, il voudrait que tous découvrent le don qu’il reçoive de Dieu. La source d’eau vive peut jaillir dans nos vies où que nous en soyons. Le Mariste, c’est le puisatier, celui qui remet en état le puits pour que l’eau vive jaillisse à nouveau.

Le Mariste est missionnaire. Cette bonne nouvelle est pour tous et pour chacun. Nos ancêtres prenaient la route des Antipodes pour annoncer Jésus. Aujourd’hui, nous cherchons toujours à aller aux périphéries, auprès de ceux qui sont loin.

« Si tu savais le don de Dieu ! » Jésus te le dit aujourd’hui. Veux-tu prendre la route avec lui ? Veux-tu rejoindre la famille de Marie ? Tu es invité.